Canyonlands – The Art of the Grand Canyon

I’ve been invited to take part in the “Canyonlands, Art of the Grand Canyon” show at Huey’s Fine Art in Santa Fe New Mexico.  The show opens this Saturday February 11th.  The following paintings will be exhibited and available for purchase.

This is actually the first time I’m showing my Grand Canyon paintings so I’m pretty excited.  As I discussed in an earlier post painting the Grand Canyon was a very overwhelming experience but I really learned a lot painting these 3 pieces.  The most important thing was to slow down and really make sure the drawing was correct. And of course the colors are so much different then what I see here in California.  Though my palette of colors remained the same, the way in which they were used and mixed was very different.

I look forward to painting the Grand Canyon in the future and hopefully I can remember what I’ve learned on these 3 and apply it to the next group of paintings.

I hope you enjoy my work of the Grand Canyon.

Canyon Light, 18 x 12, Oil on Linen

Canyon Beauty, 10 x 18, Oil on Linen

Canyon Rain, 20 x 22, Oil on Linen

2 thoughts on “Canyonlands – The Art of the Grand Canyon

Leave a Reply

