The Grand Canyon, Part 1

Hello everyone.  It’s been quite sometime since I’ve added anything to this blog, my apologies.  I’ll bring you up to date on a number of things that’ve been going in my world starting with our trip to the Grand Canyon.

Visiting the Grand Canyon was a first for me and my wife, Janice.  I’ve always seen and been inspired by great paintings of the Canyon by Thomas Moran and contemporary artists such as Curt Walters, Wilson Hurley and William Scott Jennings.  I’ve heard people say that it’s hard to describe the Grand Canyon, I learned that that was a tremendous understatement.  There are no words.

We left early in the morning from our home in Mountain View and planned to arrive shortly after sunset, a 12-13 hour drive.  The drive was long but we had a great time sharing the driving and seeing the sights along the way.  Breakfast in Bakersfield and lunch, well, I’m not sure where we had lunch other than to say “in the desert”.  As we got closer to the Grand Canyon I realized that we just might make before the sunset, what a treat that would be.  As it turned out we arrived at the Grand Canyon about 30 minutes prior to the sun setting.  Approaching the Canyon is not like approaching other National Parks where you can see your destination from the road, perhaps miles away.  According to the road signs we were just 1 mile away but no sign of it anywhere, the anticipation building.  We finally were within a few yards of the Canyon when we caught glimpses of it through the juniper forest that creeps up to canyons rim.  We exited our car and walked to the rim, simply AWE-MAZING.  The colors at sunset were something to behold, what a blessing to see the canyon for the first time at this time of day. The sheer size of the Grand Canyon was the next thing to sink in and after that, the COLD.  I’m a California boy, so 25 degrees is a little on the cold side.

Being a painter, I’ve done a fair amount of traveling, usually by myself or with other painters. I use to be able to travel like that, alone.  But over the past few years I found myself getting very lonely on these painting trips, even with close friends around.  What I really wanted was to share these experiences with my wife and kids.  My kids are not really big on joining dad on painting trips, after all I was working.  This was one the first big trips with my wife.  It was a great blessing to see and share the experience of the Grand Canyon with her for the first time.  I look forward to seeing more of these great sights with her in the future.

The next day was gonna be a crap shoot.  A big storm was forecast so we really didn’t know what to expect.  Hang on to your hats, it’s gonna get wild and wooly.

That’s it for part 1.  Be patient, paintings to follow.

 

That’s it for now.  Be patient, paintings to follow.

2 thoughts on “The Grand Canyon, Part 1

  1. I love this picture! I am the woman that served you dinner this evening. I have been looking over your works with such admiration. You really do capture the beauty of the landscapes and “critters”.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Cindy Mays Hooper

Leave a Reply

