Keeping it Fresh

Over the past few months I’ve been having the urge to painting something new and fresh.  This urge is what led me to New York and Central Park and it’s the same urge that’s leading me to paint cityscapes and architectural elements. I don’t have any plans to stop painting the landscape, I find way to much inspiration in it to do that, but I do want to add to the scope of which I paint and find inspiration.  It’s always a bit of a scary thing to step out and try something new, this is no exception.  What will people think? Will they like the work? Will they add this new work to their collections? Regardless of how these questions are answered I must step out in faith.  It’s part of my growth as a painter and as a human being.

I’m very excited to find where this journey will take me, it’s already taken me to New York.  I’ve also visited San Francisco to view some of the great architectural pieces in the city including the Palace of Fine Arts.  Obviously this new direction will reveal more of the hand of man in the cityscapes and architectural elements whereas the landscapes really revealed the beauty and creative hand of God.  My hope is to bring these two elements, the hand of God and the hand of Man, together.

It’s always been easy to find beauty in the landscape,  you just need to have your eyes open. You can even close your eyes and listen, it can be heard. But what about the beauty in the City?  The beauty of the city is not as easily seen or heard.  This will be my challenge. But beauty is present if we simply open our eyes, once again, and see.  The beauty of a creative God passed down to the creative hand of man.  It can be found in the beautiful architecture and sculptural elements so often found in our big cities, cities that have a history. The Palace of Fine Arts is a great example of this historical architecture as well as the sculptural elements.  Completed in 1915, It was the main attraction of the Panama-Pacific International Exposition.  My painting “Moonlit Grace” is one of my first examples of architectural elements at The Palace of Fine Arts.  Another example is my painting “St. Brigid”.  This piece is from the beautiful sculpture of St. Brigid (Artist: Seamus Murphy, 1948) above the front door of the St. Brigid Church in San Francisco.

I hope you enjoy these new pieces.  I look forward to discovering more of this beauty in our cities.

Moonlit Grace

Moonlit Grace, Palace of Fine Arts, San Francisco, 16 x 8

St.Brigid

St. Brigid, St. Brigid Chuch, San Francisco, 25 x 9, Oil on Linen

12 thoughts on “Keeping it Fresh

  1. Wow Kevin!!! Awesome!!! I love both of them and this new direction you are going! I can’t wait to see more. Everything you paint, in all the styles are gorgeous! You really have a gift and I am so glad the world gets to see it!

    Yvonne

  2. I’m interested in the story behind the painting you did of the St. Brigid sculpture in San Francisco. Your paintings are full of story–very moving and thoughtful… Anyway, if you ever have the time to expand on this, I’d love to hear!

  3. Also, Kevin, I’ve explored this theme of the “hand of the God and the hand of man” as well. I’m a writer and in two children’s books I have published I tried to show the circle of creation–of how God created the earth (the vine), so we might create from the earth (tending the vine, juicing the grape, making the wine), and how we finish that circle by offering what we create both to our fellow man and back to God (the wine in communion, which God then changes to His very own body…)

    I’m excited to find your work, and look forward to following your artistic path…

    • Hi Jane, Thank you so much for the kind words regarding my work.

      You asked about my painting of St. Brigid. I actually took a trip to San Francisco with the purpose of looking for sculpture when I came across St. Brigid Church. Like most subjects I was really attracted to the light on the statue. Because the statue was tucked in a cove and the sun was somewhat high in the sky the light left the face of the statue in the shadows. I love the mystery created by this type of play between light and shadow. Being a follower of Jesus these types of statues have a lot of meaning to me. I did a painting of a small antique statue of Jesus standing on an antique book of Common Prayers from England, I’ll post this painting tomorrow. It’s a painting I decided to keep in my private collection.

      BTW, My wife and kids and I checked out your website and blog. It was great. My wife and I listened to one of your audio books and really enjoyed it. The whole idea of the hand of God and the hand of man was evident in your writing. Your blog was sweet, great stories especially your latest blog on Veterans Day. I hope you don’t mind but I placed a link to your blog on mine as a blog I read.

      Thanks again for writing. -Cheers

  4. Kevin:
    I’d like your permission to list your website– on my website–on my links page. I like your philosophy and would like to help promote you in this small way….
    Let me know.
    Blessings! jane

Leave a Reply

