Sonoma Plein Air 2009

The Sonoma Plein Air event was held this past weekend.  About 40 artists were invited to Sonoma Valley to paint for 5 days. I consider this event one of the best run events in the country.  The artists are very well taken care including being offered free housing from the generous citizens of Sonoma Valley. My host family, who I’ve stayed with for the past 2 years, is one block from the Sonoma Town Square.

The beginning of the week was filled with a mixture of clouds, rain, mist and fog. Fortunately this type of weather fits my approach to painting on location.  I found myself on a number occasions parked under the rear door of my SUV trying to keep my painting and palette dry.  The sun made it’s appearance late in the week which made for some great sunrises and sunsets.

I’ve posted my favorite painting from the week.  This piece was painted on one of those foggy, moody days that I love so much. This piece sold at the auction Friday night.

Jewel of Sonoma, 18 x 12

Jewel of Sonoma, 18 x 12 SOLD

Leave a Reply

